FlexGUI won't connect to KITFS85FRDMEVM Windows 10

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FlexGUI won't connect to KITFS85FRDMEVM Windows 10

RayHaynes
Contributor I

Tying to connect the FlexGUI to the KITFS85FRDMEVM Eval board. I've followed the UM11157 guide. When I plug in the board I see a serial port get enumerated. I see the FlexGUI Launcher and it lists the FS85 Kits > FS85 and C0 is checked. The feature set has debug-spi selected, Target MCU is KL25Z (embedded), and USB IF is usb_cdc listed. I click OK and the main GUI page loads but it says MCU: KL25Z (embedded) / Disconnected / Firmware NA in the lower left of the GUI. If I click the Search button, the Ports selector gets prefilled with the correct PORT# but then when I click START it crashes and closes without any messages. There are some logs created though I'm no expert it looks like that even on the original start the COM port is not captured correctly. Just launch the GUI and closing it yields this in the .out log file

It has several dozen of warnings like this:

WARNING: Loading FXML document with JavaFX API of version 9.0.1 by JavaFX runtime of version 8.0.331
May 05, 2022 7:38:21 PM nxp.fg.core.session.CoreSession start

And then ends with this:

WARNING: Core session FS85 KITs_session-1 with kit FS85 KITs was not synchronized with the MCU (connection is not available)

Any pointers?

Ray

0 Kudos
18 Replies

RayHaynes
Contributor I

I tried two additional eval boards we have, KITPF8200FRDMEVM and KITPF8200FRDMPGM and they exhibit the same issue with their prospective software. I had IT disable the AV on my office computer and same issue. Finally, I tried it on my personal home computer and it worked as expected. So there is some compatibility between the FlexGUI and my work computers other than AV. I wish NXP would show some interest in getting to the bottom of this issue but since I have a workaround I'll manage.

0 Kudos

RayHaynes
Contributor I