cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC2388 ISP Programming

danzarate
Contributor I

Hi all,

I am looking to use ISP programming. I am fairly new to it, so I would like to lay out my game plan below and see if it makes sense; otherwise, some suggestions/ideas in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Basically, I want to put the values of a lookup table into flash. It will be 211x11 bytes so it will come out to ~2.3 kB. I have gone through the user's manual for the processor a couple times and this is what I got from it:

1. To start, I will bring the processor into ISP mode via an IAP command (see section 29.8.8 Reinvoke ISP).
    • I will skip Code Read Protection (CRP) since I probably won't need it (this task is a one-time deal)
    • Also, per the user manual descriptions of the commands listed in step 3 below, the commands will be blocked if CRP is enabled.
    • Unfortunately, bringing down P2.10 is not an option although it is mentioned in the manual
  2. I will send the Unlock command to unlock write, erase and go commands (see section 29.7.1 Unlock)
  3. I will send the Set Baud Rate command and set it to 19200 (see section 29.7.2 Set Baud Rate).
  4. Now for the values in the lookup table, I will issue the Write to RAMPrepare sector(s) for write operation and Copy RAM to flash commands (see sections 29.7.4, 29.7.6 and 29.7.7, respectively)
    • I am guessing that any sector that is cleared by default (0xFF's all around) is a freebie for use?
    • I can also issue a Read Memory command if needed to confirm that values are actually residing in flash
    • At the time of this writing, I am not sure how many values I can send at a time. I noticed that the ISP data should come in UU-encoded, so I still have to read up on that.
  5. Once all of that is done, I will power cycle, write some memcpy lines and (hopefully) see the same data that I put in.

Here are some other tidbits you may want to know: