Garbage in MCUXpresso output, MAC OS X

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Garbage in MCUXpresso output, MAC OS X

iancull
Contributor III

I've been using the MAC version of MCUXpresso for a few months now with a new K22F project; I noticed today that the end of my compiled code has garbage nonsense in it, looks sometimes like source code! I just now used objcopy to convert the axf output file to lst format ("arm-none-eabi-objdump -S "${BuildArtifactFileName}" > "${BuildArtifactFileBaseName}.lst"") and the end of the file has sections like attached.

The screenshot shows "DRIVEROOT" in the listing, which is defined as a one character string:

const TCHAR DRIVEROOT[] = "/";

So it looks like the compiler is leaving heaps of junk after the definition; it's hard to be sure but maybe there's junk at the end of the "last" constant string in any module - although it looks like the order of constant strings isn't the same as source code so I can't be sure.

It looks like it's not just constant strings either; the final item in the listing is "__num_Ciob_streams" which doesn't exist in any source code.

Anyone got any ideas why this is happening, compiler / linker settings to make this issue go away? I've never seen it in my Windows MCUXpresso projects, though that's no proof that this is a MAC only issue.

0 Kudos
5 Replies

ErichStyger
Senior Contributor V

Hi @iancull ,

you are very likely using these strings in things like printf() or in similar things inside your application, either directly or indirectly e.g. in libraries. You need to search for these strings in your source code to find where they are used.

Erich

0 Kudos

iancull
Contributor III

I'm wondering now ... is it just the listing file that's confusing? It's labeling lots of separate text all as "DRIVEROOT" rather than labeling each text separately?