Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginning with ARM Cortex LPC

Jump to solution
hugo_nicolas
Contributor II

Hello,

I am very new to the arm cortex world, and I have to work with a LPC5411xx for an internship project. Sadly, I am completely lost, and I dont know how to learn to use this MCU, and I have many questions.

I bought the demo board LPCXpresso 5411xx, but even simple example are difficult to understand. (I am using MCUXpresso IDE).

- How can I create a simple project to begin (File>New>Project>C/C++>C project) without unnecessary file for the demo board ? I have created a C project but I dont have a main.c. In the example, there are many others files that I also dont have (drivers ...), why ?

Capture d’écran 2019-06-11 à 14.47.09.png 

- How to learn the syntax of ARM cortex in MCUXpresso ?

- Is it possible to work without demo board ?

- How to learn the base of MCUXpresso, it looks like every tutorial/forum on internet are made for none beginner users.

- I am trying to just turn a pin from 0 to 1, which was easy when I was working with Microchip PIC MCU, but even this seems very hard with the LPC5411xx. How can you program a simple action like this ? I am kind of desperate.

Thank you very much in advance,

Best regards,

Hugo

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
soledad
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi, 

I will suggest to use MCUXpresso SDK. 

LPCOpen and MCUXpresso are software libraries (drivers and middleware) and example programs that enable developers to create multifunctional products based on LPC microcontrollers.

LPCOpen are the previous packages for LPC devices however that are already available continue to be maintained, and can be used with MCUXpresso IDE. Some LPC devices have both LPCOpen and MCUXpresso SDK support,but it is recommended that MCUXpresso SDK be used in order to take advantage of future updates and improvements.

Have a great day,
Sol