What is the proper UART assignment for using printf with JTAG?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the proper UART assignment for using printf with JTAG?

Jump to solution
dave408
Senior Contributor II

I'm just getting started with KDS 3.0 and KSDK 1.2 and am in the process of recreating the work I've previously done with KDS 2.0 and KSDK 1.1.

I would like to be able to use debug_printf with the DbgCs1 component on a custom MK64FN1M0VLL12-based PCB.  I also want to communicate with other peripherals over RS485 or RS232.  I believe I have a problem with the routing, because the RS485 connection is routed to PTB16/PTB17, which is allocated to UART0.  Since JTAG is also connected to UART0, then I assume this means I'm going to have to re-route the signals, or just not use that port until the next rev.

So in short, I take it that the proper design methodology behind incorporating Kinetis processors is to first look at the UART that shares pins with the JTAG connections, and then prevent usage of this UART on any of the other pins that provide access to that peripheral?

In addition, when I select those pins in DbgCs1, I get a conflict with my CPU settings:

29043_29043.pngpastedImage_0.png

29044_29044.pngpastedImage_1.png

What is the right approach for supporting debug_printf over JTAG and JTAG if I'm getting conflicts in the PEx definitions?

Labels (1)
1 Solution
ivadorazinova
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello Alice,

You should choose the UART which you want to use and re-route to specific pins.

If you don´t want to use UART, you can disable pins for UART0 and set Baud rate.

alice.png

fsl_dbg_console is always needed (it is required from OSA layer).

I hope this helps,

Best Regards,

Iva

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Alice_Yang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Dave,

Please tell us the KDS version , and whether with KSDK ?