cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

S08 KBI vs General Purpose IO Port Scan

Jump to solution
danielhembree
Contributor III

I have a project that has eight push button switches that are connected to and driving the KBI pins for user input. My code utilizes an ISR that responds to interrupts generated by the KBI. The particular device I have selected (MC9S08SE8CWL) has the KBI input pins spread across two ports. Because of this, my inputs and outputs are scattered and mixed across all available ports. If I adopt a general purpose I/O port scan method versus the KBI approach I can clean up some of the scattered architecture. The project has no timing critical tasks - simply writing output ports based on user selections, and periodically performing an A2D conversion on a potentiometer connected to one ATD pin. Is thee additional benefit to using the KBI scheme vs the port scan that I may be unaware of? I'm relatively new to all of this, so any input is welcome!

Thanks in advance,

Dan

Labels (1)
Tags (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Lundin
Senior Contributor IV

Generally, interrupts are just useful when the program needs to respond to something immediately, for example when used as a chip select signal. If you have to tough real time requirements, there is no apparent benefit from it.

In fact, since you use the inputs for push buttons, an interrupt pin may even be harmful. Because push buttons have an electro-mechanical signal bounce. If you connect it to a pin, you might get multiple, irrelevant interrupts that disturb the rest of the program. This would basically force you to use an external hardware filter for something this trivial. If just you poll the port instead, you can easily do the de-bouncing in software without disturbing the rest of the program. Simplest way is to read, wait 10ms, read again, logical AND the result (assuming a button push yields a logical 1).

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies