ZigBee dongle with pre-installed firmware?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ZigBee dongle with pre-installed firmware?

Jump to solution
johancockx
Contributor I

Does Freescale sell any USB dongles that provide ZigBee (or at least 802.15) connectivity without requiring me to develop my own firmware?

From what I gather by looking around on internet,  the most common way to use ZigBee is by developing application-specific firmware. 

As my current project is a feasibility study only and I have limited experience with firmware development,  I would prefer to skip that step. The idea is to plug a USB dongle into an existing embedded computer and modify only the application on that computer to obtain connectivity.

There seem to be some dongles around that communicate with the host computer using an AT style command set.  My hope is that that will be sufficient to evaluate important porperties for this project,  such as maximum throughput of the ZigBee link,  and the performance of automatic network configuration.

Labels (1)
  • RF

Tags (3)
1 Solution
AlanCollins
Contributor V

Hello Johan,

Yes, no problem!!.

You can generate different demo applications from BeeKit wireless toolkit. These demo apps have a feature called ZTC (ZigBee Test Client), which is basically a UART protocol that allows you to monitor and inject messages, in between ZigBee internal layers (AF, APS, ZDO, SS, NWK, MAC). If you enable ZTC, you can make the whole chip to become a "black box" interface. This means you can control ZigBee by UART commands (SPI and IIC are also supported). Of course, you will need to understand the ZigBee API so you know how to create/join network, start a binding process, send data, etc...

I hope this helps.

Best Regards,

Alan Collins

View solution in original post

5 Replies
AlanCollins
Contributor V

Hello Johan,

Yes, no problem!!.