cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RT1170 EVK FLexRAM allocation

dloub
Contributor I

Good day all.

It is my first time configuring FlexRAM. I am trying to change the FlexRAM memory allocation on the RT1170EVK board. I have followed the steps from the NXP post Reallocating the FlexRAM - NXP Community and the application note "Using the i.MX RT FlexRAM Rev 3". I would like to only use SRAM_DTC, i.e. 512kB DTCM and 0kB ITCM and 0kB OCRAM.

I have modified the following registers at their corresponding addresses (obtained from the i.MX RT1170 Processor Reference Manual Rev 1):

IOMUXC_GPR_GPR16 - 0x400E4040

IOMUXC_GPR_GPR16 - 0x400E4044

IOMUXC_GPR_GPR16 - 0x400E4048

I edited the ResetISR(void) function in 'startup_mimxrt1176_cm7.c" to be:

dloub_0-1624258916845.png

I replaced 'IMAGE_ENTRY_ADDRESS' in 'fsl_flexspi_nor_boot.c' with '(uint32_t)ResetISR' as per the instructions:

dloub_1-1624259041774.png

This resulted in a mupltiple definitions error, therefore I had to comment out 'extern uint32_t ResetISR[];' in 'fsl_flexspi_nor_boot.h':

dloub_6-1624259816175.png

I changed the linkerscript to correspond to the new DTC size:

dloub_2-1624259101885.png

And in board.c I modified the MPU (BOARD_ConfigMPU) to match the new memory sizes (based on the assumption that region 4 is the ITC and region 5 is the DTC):

dloub_3-1624259210934.png

With this configuration and modifications my project compiles fine:

dloub_4-1624259285519.png

But when debugging, my program just stalls and never offers the 'play' option:

dloub_5-1624259459384.png

What am I doing wrong?

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

dloub
Contributor I

Thank you for the responses.