Interfacing Quad Flash, Octal RAM, Octal Flash and/or MCP memory with flexSPI on iMX8 processor

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interfacing Quad Flash, Octal RAM, Octal Flash and/or MCP memory with flexSPI on iMX8 processor

priyank_bhatt
Contributor III

Hello,

I am using iMX8QXP processor with linux-imx_5.4.3-1.0.0(linux-imx - i.MX Linux kernel ). I am new to iMX8 series processors and I am trying to interface Quad Flash, Octal Flash, Octal RAM, MCP memory to flexSPI.
I know I can connect Quad/Octal flash to flexspi0 interface, the .dts file is present in source. Change it according to the chip I am using. Create a new driver for the particular chip. Then I can access flash from user space using MTD utils/commands in my application. I have few questions regarding memory access.
1. Is there any example driver which I can go through to create my own flash driver?
2. What is the case if I am using Octal RAM. How can I access it from user space? using MTD utils? Are there any examples?
3. In case of MCP memory(Octal flash + Octal RAM), is it possible to access both Flash and RAM at the same time?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
5 Replies

igorpadykov
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Priyank

1. for driver example one can look at  SDK_MEK-MIMX8QX available

on Welcome | MCUXpresso SDK Builder 

or linux driver:

spi-nxp-fspi.c\spi\drivers - linux-imx - i.MX Linux kernel 

2. unfortunately for Octal RAM I am not aware of any examples, seems MTD utils can be used.

3. I am afraid not.

Best regards
igor
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos

priyank_bhatt
Contributor III

Hi igorpadykov,