Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TPMS Sensors

Jump to solution
lalit0611
Contributor II

Hi,

I am very new to TPMS sensors, I just read about them and though that it would be cool to fit them in my car.So I was looking at FXTH87 sensors, but I could not figure out how the sensor is going to read the tyre pressure and where will it be fit on the wheel? Also I looked at the FXTH87 Evaluation Manual, it said that a BDM Multilink is required to program the chip, but it appears that is being discontinued and will be taken over by UMultiLink, but I couldn't find the FXTH87 name under the supported micro-controllers. Can someone clarify on that too?

Thanks in advance for the help :smileyhappy:

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
1 Solution
sushilnikam
Contributor III

HI Lalit,

Basically there are two methods of mounting the sensor

1. Inside the tyre

2. Outside the tyre means on the valve of the tyre.

For example if you put the sensor on the valve (outside the tyre) it has to push the valve so that the AIr Pressure will be force on the TPMS chip. As the TPMS application chip is having on chip pressure sensor it will sense the pressure and provide you the corresponding data. To understand the complete system you have to study the Internal Architecture of it. Its very difficult for me to tell you whole thing here.

Thanks & Regards

Sushil

View solution in original post

7 Replies
david_diaz
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello,

First of all, please refer to the Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) main web page in order to get more information, recommended products, demos and documentation, at:

Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)|Freescale

With regard to your first questions, I would like to recommend the following document:

A Global Solution for Tire Pressure Monitoring System