cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gimbal lock from sensor fusion

Jump to solution
leo_lau
Contributor II

Hello, I am new to NXP. Currently, I am playing with NXP Sensor Fusion Toolbox with FRDM-STBC-AGM01. I have flashed the example Kinetis Binary using the Toolbox. The magnetometer is calibrated and saved to flash. Gyro Stabilized Compass is selected in algorithm tab.

But when I lift the the board to vertical (pitch to ~90)and rotate the board left and right, roll and compass increase/decrease together.

I know the Euler angle is converted from rotation matrix and is used for display only. Also, the rotation matrix is converted from quaternion in Kalman filter. 

My questions:

1. Why gimbal behavior appeared? Isn't quaternion immune to gimbal Lock? 

2. How to solve this gimbal lock problem?

Thank you.

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
JozefKozon
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Leo,

please see a reply from the application engineer.

DESCRIPTION

Please refer to section 1.7 and 2.4  in AN5017( attached) which explains the gimbal lock and mathematics at gimbal lock position.  From customer video, I can see him rotated PCB around the vertical axis at 90 degree pitch, the image would be following his rotation if the mag calibration worked good.   The compass data may jump due to compass  discontinuity at the gimbal lock position as board may change between face up and face down, but both roll and compass are not locked or oscillate randomly.  

With Best Regards,

Jozef

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
JozefKozon
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Leo,

I have tested the FRDM-STBC-AGM01 in the Freedom Sensor Toolbox and you are right, the gimbal lock appeared, when the board is lifted 90 degrees in pitch direction.