S32DS AND CODEWORRIER Assembler programming. Please help URGENT

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

S32DS AND CODEWORRIER Assembler programming. Please help URGENT

peteradamcik
Contributor III

Hi guys, serious problem here. I'm an assembler programmer and I've designed a standalone board with the PDX20 which is also a MPC5645S. I've checked ALL voltages and GND and all is correct, my board is working fine with downloading code using codeworrier via the JTAG interface.

I've created a C project and called my assembler program via a extern function in C. Now this works fine. I've done this is S32DS and Codeworrier. 

Using Codeworrier -> When typing in assembler instructions codeworrier hardly recognises any of the assembler instructions. It does accept a few like add r3,r4,r5 but won't accept addi r3,r4,50. It won't accept  stw r5,0(r3) so I can't even store data anywhere, and load instructions don't work either. I can say that codeworrier does download my code to my standalone via the JTAG interface so I know that my standalone board is fine. Can someone help with codeworrier recognising the PowerPC assembler instructions.

Using S32DS -> S32DS accepts ALL the PowerPC assembler instructions so I'm happy about that but here's the problem. When I build the program is all good but when I choose debug it won't down load the code to my standalone board yet codeworrier does download the code. The error I'm getting in SD32 is "Launching PDX20_TEST.elf" has encountered a problem. Error with command: gdb -- version.

I have NO idea what that means, can someone help me on that. I'd rather use SD32 than codeworrier. 

Thanks guys and hope to hear from you soon.

Pete

0 Kudos
2 Replies

stanish
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Pete,

Regarding s32 Design Studio - please check this thread:

https://community.nxp.com/t5/S32-Design-Studio/Cannot-run-program-quot-gdb-quot-Launching-failed/m-p...