Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to receive a CAN message with MM9Z1J638

Jump to solution
kadiruzun
Contributor III

Hello all,

I am dealing with DEMO code of MM9Z1J638 intelligent battery sensor for a while. I am pretty new with embedded coding, C and all of these topics. As I learn more, I have much more questions.

I get how to transmit a CAN message. I made some changes in DEMO code so that I can send whatever the message I want to be sended. Now,, I am trying to understand how receive routine works. In can.c file I found the following piece of C code:

interrupt VectorNumber_Vcan0rx void isrCANRx(void)  {

TYPE_RETURN_CODE can_errorflag;

u8 length, index, hitid;

hitid = CAN0IDAC & 0x7;

length = (CAN0RXDLR & 0x0F);

can_errorflag = NO_ERR;

switch(hitid) {

case 0: // Acceptance code 0 hit

for (index=0; index<length; index++) {

rx0_buf[index] = *(&CAN0RXDSR0 + index); /* Get received data */

}

rx0_flag = 1;

break;

case 1:

rx1_buf[index] = *(&CAN0RXDSR0 + index); /* Get received data */

}

rx1_flag = 1;

break;

case 2:

rx2_buf[index] = *(&CAN0RXDSR0 + index); /* Get received data */

}

rx2_flag = 1;

break;

case 3:

rx3_buf[index] = *(&CAN0RXDSR0 + index); /* Get received data */

}

rx3_flag = 1;

break;

default:

can_errorflag = ERR_NO_ACC_HIT;

break;

}

CAN0RFLG = 0x01;   /* Clear RXF */

}

I did not really understand how this code works, how it gets the message from transmitter. Where is the message kept? There is a switch-case statement for different can message IDs, but What happens if the id is not 0,1,2, or 3 but something like 143? These are some of the questions I can not answer.

I will be glad if you have any idea or recommendations.

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
1 Solution
RadekS
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Kadir,

It is simple code.

However, you have to know a little bit more about acceptance filter.