HCS Bus Frequency

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HCS Bus Frequency

RChapman
Contributor I
This message contains an entire topic ported from a separate forum. The original message and all replies are in this single message. We have seeded this new forum with selected information that we expect will be of value to you as you search for answers to your questions.

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:58 pm    

Hi Guys
I am relatively new to the HCS12 and one thing I notice strait way is that the info on the datasheets seems to be a bit illusive in some cases.
The thing that really surprises me is the way that Freescale deals with the Frequency that the Micro can work at. It seems that they are giving you a value but are almost afraid of saying it… On the Datasheet for the micro I am using ( MC9S12C32), they say that the max bus frequency is 25MHz so Can I understand by that, that the crystal to be used can be 50MHz. As any of you used it up to that frequency? Because to me, after reading the datasheet and how much it talks about a 16MHz Crystal, it seems that there are issues about using a higher value crystal. When I see this kind of sort of playing down the capabilities of such a great product, it makes me a bit nervous.
What are your experiences?
I would appreciate some feedback on this as it may help others.
Thanks
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 9:58 pm

The S12s all have a PLL which can multiply the crystal frequency up to what you require. Most people use either 4, 8 or 16MHz because they are cheap.
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:21 am    

Hi,

The datasheet (link) p°111 of the User Guide V1 indicates the XTAL max depending on the configuration of the oscillator.
It is either 16MHz (Colpitts) or 40MHz (Pierce).
But you could feed the MCU with a frequency of 50MHz if you want, with an oscillator or output of another chip.