cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Defining variables in assembler

Jump to solution
roberthiebert
Contributor IV

MC9S12XEP100, CW 5.9.0 SE. I'm just starting out trying to create a simple test program in absolute assembler and I can't seem to define my variables correctly. For example

varbyte   DS.B 1  Works just fine with values from 0 to 255

Varword  DS.W 1 behaves like a signed variable and will only allow values from 0 to 32767 before going negative. What am I doing wrong?

Robert 

0 Kudos
1 Solution
StanoA
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Robert,

There is no possibility to define “signed” or “unsigned” variables in assembler. It is up to user to take care to use right functions for the required operation and also consider the possibility to receive negative result of that operation (flags N & C).

It is possible select “HEX” format to view variables also and take care about highest bit meanings. There is also option uDec – I suppose “unsigned decimal” but it shows the same as DEC. I think it is due to show the right results not without sign – it would lead to mistakes.

I hope it helps you.

Best Regards,

Stano.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
StanoA
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Robert,

Your definition is right. But in asm code you need to take care to use the right instructions and take care about flags also. It’s up to you if the “negative” flag (“N” and “C” in CCR) is accepted or not in the code. It depends on variable usage – as signed or as unsigned.

If such variables are defined as signed or unsigned in C language, it is the compiler responsibility to translate is right into asm code. It depends on the variable definition in C code.

You can read more on web about this topic also:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/18984515/x86-asm-assembler-difference-between-signed-and-unsigne...