Getting started with exceptions?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started with exceptions?

bobgrimes
Contributor II

The MCP5744P is cool, but the docs are really confusing for someone jumping into the deep end...  For me, I think the biggest problem is terminology; I've been working the embedded processing scene for many years, but until now, I have only encountered Power architecture in Xilinx Virtex4.  This is the background I am coming from, so please understand that I understand the concepts here, but not the terminology; this is the cause of my confusion, I am sure.  To be clear, below when I "quote" something, this is to indicate where I think I am confused by terminology, or specifics of the 5744P.

I am trying to develop "exception handlers" for various issues that may arise.  A partial list I was given is this:

• Critical Interrupt (IVOR0)
  • Machine Check (IVOR1)
  • Data Storage (IVOR2)
  • Instruction Storage (IVOR3)
  • Alignment (IVOR5)
  • Program (IVOR6)

Here are my problems that are causing great, personal grief, that I am 1000% positive many out there can help with!

1. Where the hell do I find documentation for these???
  2. How do I associate a handler for these?  I'm not looking for the basics of how one writes an ISR or the like.  I just don't know the details of how you wire one up to the "exception".  For example, using other architectures, how do I set an interrupt vector to point to an ISR to service the interrupt?  How is it enabled?
  3. In the interest of testing my handlers, how do I intentionally cause any/all of these? 

To those in the know, my frustration lies in the fact that I know the information is out there, but the complexity and terminology differences between simpler (?) architectures (e.g. wicked old Intels, Coldfires, ARM) and this beast are killing my confidence!

2 Replies

petervlna
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Bob,