cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC8N04 read a button over NFC

m_spit
Contributor III

Hi,

I recently bought the LPC8N04 devkit from NXP to figure out a relatively simple task;

Use the LPC8N04 as a passive tag (with energy-harvesting) that sends back information about the button state.

The devkit contains a userbutton (S2) and a toggleswitch (S1) and I'm curious how I can read this button and switch and place this information in the NFC EEPROM to be read out by an external NFC connected device.

I am new to NXP devices, but I do have experience with Eclipse (so hopefully MCUXpresso won't be a steep learning curve). I was planning to use the Energy Harvesting example included with the devkit and add button-read functionality to this 'template' code.

I'd greatly appreciate the kickstart/pseudo code anyone could give me!

With kind regards,

Merijn

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

m_spit
Contributor III

So what I've managed so far, is that I can read a button over NFC. The button is normally written as 'button off' in the EEPROM and when i press the button, the EEPROM is loaded with "button on". This is working correctly over USB power.

But I can't seem to make it work with NFC power (VNFC). I can read the tag with my phone as a passive tag saying 'button off', but when I press the button when the phone is present, remove the phone, and read the passive tag again with the phone, it still says 'button off' instead of 'button on'.

I have a feeling that the code in the MCU isn't executed when it is powered by NFC. Can anyone help me with this? I tuned down the systemclock to 2MHz according to demo code provided by the BSP, but to no avail.

0 Kudos

m_spit
Contributor III

After some more troubleshooting (if anyone is reading this), I'm still trying to figure some things out: