cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tasks don't yield to each other with FreeRTOS mutex in KSDK 1.3

MAPC
Senior Contributor I

Hello,

I'm still a beginner at FreeRTOS and I have too much to learn yet. So, I apologize for the simple questions...

I'm playing with my FRDM-KL25Z in KDS and created a new project with KSDK v. 1.3 and Processor Expert to see how a mutex works in FreeRTOS.

I have 6 tasks of same prority level which compete for the same mutex. Between taking and giving the mutex, each task increments a global variable (one different variable for each task).

As far as I know, when a mutex is realeased, it gets available for the next task waiting for it and this task, which just released (gave) the mutex, is blocked as it tries to take the mutex again in its while loop. Am I right?

But, that is not what I see as I debug the code. The variable is incremented several times before it yields to the next task, instead of being incremented just once.

The only way to get a task imediately yielding to another one is adding a "Task_Yield" or a "Time_Delay" after "Semaphore_Give". Curiously, the FRDM-K64F FreeRTOS mutex demo project in KSDK v. 2 puts a Task_Yield after "Semaphore_Give". But, that doesn't make any sense, because it is as if the mutex there is useless.

Why this is happening? Can anybody throw me a light on this please?

Thanks and best regards,

Marco Coelho

Applications Engineer

Siletec Eletronica

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

xiangjun_rong
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi, Marco,

Regarding your above code, I do not think the FreeRTOS can guarantee that the variable cont_a only increment only once if all the tasks have the same priority. but if you add taskYIELD(); after the xSemaphoreGive(xMutex);, the OS can guarantee that the the variable cont_a can  increment only once, because taskYIELD() can guarantee  the task context switching.

BR

Xiangjun Rong

0 Kudos

MAPC
Senior Contributor I