cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question Regarding Motor control using FRDM-KL25Z

Jump to solution
bargavipichai
Contributor I

I need to write a simple program to control a motor using FRDM-KL25Z evaluation board. I am new to this and I have few questions regarding that..

1. Can I connect a motor directly on my board without using motor driver. If so what kind of motor is compatible with the above mentioned board.

2. If I have to connect a motor through motor driver or motor sheild  what kind of motor sheild is compatible with the above mentioned board.

3. I have the evaluation board where can I get motor sheild and motors. Is there any tutorial available for simple motor control programs..

I have also created a service requests for this issue  service req. no. 1-1094510216 , 1-1094337910 I think tech support closed it but I didnt get any answer..

Can someone please answer these questions that would be really helpful.. Thanks a lot!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello,

for 1): the general answer is no, you cannot connect a motor directly to the board. Because the motor will need too much current.

for 2): Many are compatible. You just need to verify that they work for 3.3V operation. Some motor shields need 5V logic levels, and without a level shifter, they will not work.

for 3): simply search the internet and look at your prefered provider. There are many, many.

But if you want to see what I'm using, here are a few links:

The Freedom Zumo Robot | MCU on Eclipse

Tutorial: Arduino Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield – Part 1: Servos | MCU on Eclipse

Tutorial: Arduino Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield – Part 2: Timed Servo Moves | MCU on Eclipse

Tutorial: Arduino Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield – Part 3: 74HCT595 Shift Register | MCU on Eclipse

Freedom Track Robot with IEEE802.15.4/SMAC | MCU on Eclipse

Maze solving FRDM-KL25Z Robot goes backward for Dead-Ends | MCU on Eclipse