Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kinetis sections definitios (ICF?)

Jump to solution
sebasira
Senior Contributor I

Hello everybody!

I'm new to Kinetis family, and I can not find where the sections are defined. On ColdFire MCUs this was done inside the LCF file. Now, I've seen a ICF file, and I was guessing it would be it. But it starts with:

/*###ICF### Section handled by ICF editor, don't touch! ****/

So I'll ask before I touch it.

I'm working with IAR Workbench and the TWRK60 (K60N512). What I'd like is to define:

CODE           from     0x00000000 to 0x0007F7FF

NVM_data     from     0x0007F800 to 0x0007FFFF

How/Where can I do that?

Thanks in advance!

Best Regards,

SebaS

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
chris_brown
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi SebaS,

You can do this using the define this using the "define region" directive in the ICF (see the IAR help files - search for Define region directive).  An example of this would be:

define region ROM_region   = mem:[from __ICFEDIT_region_ROM_start__   to __ICFEDIT_region_ROM_end__]

The __ICFEDIT_region... text in this statement are simply symbols that were defined and they are the memory locations of with ROM begins and ends.  You can see more examples in the linker files in our Kinetis sample code.

As for your second question, you're just wanting to know how you make sure a variable will be stored in this section that you just created?  Yes?

Hope this helps,

Chris

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
sebasira
Senior Contributor I

Also, if you could pelase provide an example on how to declare a constant 'variable' within this segment in the IAR IDE. (maybe using somekind of pragma).

Thank you!

SebaS

0 Kudos
chris_brown
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi SebaS,

You can do this using the define this using the "define region" directive in the ICF (see the IAR help files - search for Define region directive).  An example of this would be: