Thanks for your input.

-Richard
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

JM
Contributor I
All labels are considered 16 bits
So when a one byte operand is needed it has to cut the high part.
To avoid this warning try EQU.B instead of EQU

RXFIFO EQU.B $3F

The label will be considered 8 bits and the warning will go off.

Also when you use a reference from an other file use XREF.B instead of just XREF so the assembler warnings will keep quiet.

Also when you allocate memory use ds.b or dc.b

If you declare a zero page memory SECTION use SECTION SHORT.

For more details go to ->HELP->INDEX and search for EQU or XREF or SECTION

0 Kudos

sskuce
Contributor I
I've got a similar issue. I'm a newbie to CW and Freescale/Motorola micros in general, so maybe there's something simple I'm not doing. I'm using CW 5.7.0 with the MC9S08GB60.

I've got a byte defined in my zero page, as so:
; variable/data section
MY_ZEROPAGE: SECTION SHORT
;Transmit enabled flag. Controls transmission over RS-485
gbSGTE: DS.B 1
;...other variables not relevant to my post.

And in my code, which is later in the same file, I've got a branch using gbSGTE:
BRCLR 0, gbSGTE, \@FINISH ;Skip transmitting if not enabled.

This gives me A13003, Value truncated to one byte, even though the generated machine code is correct, at least in the debugger it looks correct. MY_ZEROPAGE is definitely in the zero page, as when I look at the assembly in the debugger, all the variables declared in MY_ZEROPAGE have addresses below $ff.

The problem is with gbSGTE, not \@FINISH, which is only +19 from the branch instruction. I can continue working for now, as it's 'only' a warning, and like I said the generated machine code turns out fine, so it's just annoying, but I would obviously like to get rid of it.

I understand that labels are 16-bit by default, but I would think that if you explicitly declare SECTION SHORT, that wouldn't be a problem. Is there a way I can force it to interpret gbSGTE as an 8-bit label?
0 Kudos

rocco