Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC1768 USB Host Bootloader

Jump to solution
gabrielevittori
Contributor II

Hello,

I need to use a secondary bootloader on my system and so I started to look at the example provided from NXP like the AN10866.

This one allow to emulate a USB device and copy form the host PC the new bin file in...

On my board I would need to use a USB stick for this purpose and I tried to had alook at the AN11628 (written around the LPC1788).

Let me say first that I'm quite new to the Cortex-M3 architecture.

After some try to port it to my device (with no success) I decided to write one from scratch.

My secondary  bootloader load a bin file from USB stick and store it into the LPC1768 Flash memory starting address 0x10000 using IAP calls.

The writing and compare process ends correctly but when I jump to the final application I get an Hard Fault handler.

My bootloader use RTX and the same does the user application.

I almost read any thread of any forum around boot loader and LPC Cortex-M3 devices, but no one of the solution provided works for me.

I would really appreciate if someone can give any advice on that.

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
1 Solution
tyler_drazich
Contributor III

Hello Gabriele,

Here is a quick list of things you could check.

Was the user firmware image linked for address 0x10000? Not sure which toolchain you're using, but this needs to be changed accordingly when building the application. Typically its defined in the memory map settings. I can provide more details for a specific toolchain/IDE if needed.

The interrupt vectors need to be remapped for the user application before interrupts are enabled within the user application. For example, write 0x10000 to the vector table offset register (VTOR) to assign the new vector table location, then you can allow interrupts within the user application.

Not sure how you're jumping to the user application, but I use the following function.