Anyone know an easy way to enable old flexcan driver over the new fsl_flexcan?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone know an easy way to enable old flexcan driver over the new fsl_flexcan?

Jump to solution
jamesmonczynski
Contributor II

I admit, I'm not that experienced with modifying the custom BSP based off of the twrk70f120m.

So, my legacy code uses the old flexcan driver (as opposed to the new fsl driver).

flexcan_mk70.c

kflexcan.c

kflexcan.h

kflexcan_int.c

When I try to add these files to the BSP, in the same "Peripheral_IO_Drivers\flexcan" folder, I get an error about adding files to a virtual folder.

So, I copied the files into my project, handled all compile errors, updated bsp.h to include appropriate files, and got the project to compile/link (minor warnings seen from bsp).

I tried out the project and CAN still does not work.

So, I think I'm missing something by not disabling the new fsl flexcan driver and not enabling the old flexcan driver.

Can someone point in the right direction to do this?

Thanks.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
danielchen
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi

I recommend you study the following documents.

C:\Freescale\Freescale_MQX_4_1\doc\mqx\MQX_BSP_Porting_Guide.pdf

C:\Freescale\Freescale_MQX_4_1\doc\mqx\MQX_BSP_Porting_Example_User_Guide.pdf

The two documents described how to remove driver source files from BSP project, and how to add driver source files to BSP.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
jamesmonczynski
Contributor II

Update.

I am able to transmit CAN messages.

I can see the device's reply with a tool (Vehicle Spy 3).

But, I never get the receive interrupt with the message.

BTW, this same exact code works just fine under MQX v4.0.2

0 Kudos
DavidS
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi James,

The rub with the old flexcan drivers working with the newer MQX4.1.x is data types changed as well, and duplicate function declaration.