cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reg: Using Timers in IMX

vishvapathi
Contributor V

Hi All,

I am new to IMX and Linux. I am interested in using Timers in my program. Kindly share some sample or pointers

Thanks in Advance

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

AnsonHuang
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi, Karnan

You can look into our BSP to gpt timer's use, but first you need to list your requirement, what use case do you want for timer? Basically, there are two modes for our timers, one is reload mode, the other is compare mode:

1. Reload: setting an counter value, everytime timer count to this value, it will generate an interrupt and auto reload this value and redo the counting;

2. Compare: timer is running freely and after it goes up/down to the highest/lowest value, it will loop back, eveytime it run to the value match the compare value we set int the register, it will generate an interrupt;

0 Kudos

vishvapathi
Contributor V

Hi Huang,

Thanks for your response. I need to generate interrupts for multiple time durations such as 200ms, 1s, 5s,30s2min etc. Reload mode will suit for my requirement. I have already tried it in SIGALRM method and it works fine for now,

But i want to implement the same in Interrupt method. I doesnt want to load all my events to a single timer.

I havent worked on interrupts in I.MX+Linux, Kindly give me some pointers.

0 Kudos

AnsonHuang
NXP Employee
NXP Employee