cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

imx53 CSI camera interface

JoshuaParrish
Contributor I

Hello,

I was hoping that someone could help me.

I would like to know how to write a driver for the imx csi interface. 

I'm relatively new to linux. 

The camera driver I need to write (or to get) is for a MT9v113 Aptina imager. 

Could anyone point me in the right direction?

I'd like to make this driver v4l compatible. 

I'm just not really sure how to start. 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

JoshuaParrish
Contributor I

Aaron sorry for the late reply.

I know this will sound weird, but trust you will save a crazy amount of time. 

Go into the freescale tree. find under drivers (I can't remember the exact folder but there should be an mxc folder) 

In that folder you will find drivers for both Aptina and Omnivision cameras. Pick one of the drivers based on the manufacturer you choose for your cam. Now this is the weird part. If your driver model isn't mentioned don't worry. Just copy the driver that is there and then make a new one for your model. 

From there start modifying the driver in order to satisfy what your camera registers need. 

After you do that you will have to build your driver against the imx53 kernel. This is tricky and I can't remember all the steps. The make file will need the address(folder addr) of the kernel. 

From there should be able to build your driver and have a working version if you've manipulated it correctly. 

Get your driver onto your imx start up the mxc_camera driver then start your driver. Then you can open the camera interface using the test tools in the test unit directory. 

0 Kudos

AaronLinsdau
Contributor I

Joshua,

Did you ever have success with your project?  I'm in the same boat and have been floundering for quite some time.  Any guidance (other than read the manual ;) ) would be wonderfully helpful.

0 Kudos

JoshuaParrish
Contributor I