cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MMA68xx initialization

Jump to solution
stevenburck
Contributor II

I'm a software engineer working with a hardware engineer and firmware engineer, and we are adding an MMA68xx to a product.  The firmware engineer is doing the SPI via an FPGA, I'm writing via registers to the device - and we're trying to see why the response is always "Internal error/SPI error.".  I expect it is that I'm not properly bringing the device up, but there's plenty to go wrong at the firmware level, too, so I wanted to make sure.  I've searched for sample code, couldn't find any, so figured I'll ask here:

What I have done for initialization is sent the following 4 words:

0x4B10 - (write to DEVCFG register the value 0x10, meaning unsigned data and no arming).

0x4C00 - write to DEVCFG_X to use minimal filters and not in self-test

0xCD00 - same to DEVCFG_Y

0xCB30 - end initialization

Then, all the time, send 0x2005 and 0x6004 to get X and Y results.  What I get back, as I said earlier, is 0x1C00, which is "Internal error/SPI error."  Now, the datasheet says that this can come for a huge number of reasons - so I'm curious if there is a detailed description of the initialization process anywhere?

Thanks in advance,

Steve

0 Kudos
1 Solution
stevenburck
Contributor II

Found it - added a read to DEVSTAT at the end of initialization and it's working.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Pascal_BERNARD
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,

Information (hardware and source code) is available at Automotive Sensors Tower System Module Freescale (http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=TWR-SENSOR-PAK-AUTO&tid=m32TWR).

Refer driver for MMA6800 or MMA6500.

Many Thanks,

Pascal

0 Kudos
anandritesh
Contributor I

Thanks for the guidance,

I am using MMA6525 and unable to get the data,

Also Can I connect CS pin to ground forever as I am using one device as SPI slave ?

0 Kudos