cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding Open vSwitch

stacym
Contributor I

Hello all,

I am just beginning a project that requires OpenFlow protocol support.  I am required to accomplish this using the Freescale PowerQUICC 8308 processor for which I have a working ltib build environment.  I would like to learn how to add Open vSwitch without kernel support or if that is not possible, to add it to the kernel.  I am building with kernel 2.6.29 using ltib and so far, all I can find in the way of install instruction for open vSwitch are using 'configure' and 'make'.

Has anyone tried anything similar and could share some advice to help me get started?

Thanks,

Stacy

0 Kudos
2 Replies

yipingwang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Stacy,

You could integrate open vSwitch into ltib as the following.

Please create a new folder openvswitch in dist/lfs-5.1/, then put the attached spec file in folder.

Enter into /opt/freescale/pkgs/, use wget download openvswitch-1.10.0.tar.gz and compute the md5sum then save it as file openvswitch-1.10.0.tar.gz.md5.

Run ./ltib -c

Select "Configure the Kernel" and "Leave the sources after building".

Select dependent package "openssl" and "bridge-utils".

Build and deploy openvswitch into filesystem.

./ltib -m prep -p openvswitch.spec

./ltib -m scbuild -p openvswitch.spec  (build the package)

./ltib -m scinstall -p openvswitch.spec  (install the package)

./ltib -m scdeploy -p openvswitch.spec (deploy it into filesystem)

./ltib (generate the filesystem again)

I have do some verification for you, but I didn't pass building openvswitch 1.10.0 with Kernel 2.6.29, I think there should be compatible problem, so more effort is still needed.

If further assistance is still needed, please feel free to let me know.

Have a great day,
Yiping

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------