cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running a standalone executable file in P1020RDB

ricardofranca
Contributor II

Hello,

I intend to run some simple programs in a P1020RDB (without any interference from an OS, as I am interested in some real-time aspects of my programs) but I have no experience in dealing with u-boot or any board that is more complex than old MCU SDKs (which run bare-metal programs without much configuration).

- Is there any empty RAM space where I could upload an ELF or binary file? I assume the 2GB DDR3 goes from 0x0 to 0x200000 but I am not sure about it... when looking at this memory range via u-boot "md" command, it did not look empty.

- Is it possible to call a standalone program from u-boot using "go" or "bootelf"?

If none of my thoughts make sense, I am open to other ideas and corrections, of course. For the moment, I intend to use only the basic environment (board + serial connection via UART0 + Tera Term). I intend to generate my executable files using a Green Hills compiler that is able to generate code for this board.

Thanks!

Ricardo

0 Kudos
3 Replies

yipingwang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

In u-boot, DDR memory map is as the following.

* 0x0000_0000 0x7fff_ffff      DDR             Up to 2GB cacheable

Typically U-Boot is built to reside/execute in the upper portion of main memory, and the remainder of low memory is available for whatever.

U-Boot will start its stack at the end of SDRAM, or BASE+SIZE. So the region between CONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE+(size of u-boot.bin) and the end of SDRAM is the available stack area should be available.

U-Boot will also use memory below CONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE for its malloc() pool. The size of that region is defined by CONFIG_SYS_MALLOC_LEN.

So the memory between CONFIG_SYS_SDRAM_BASE and
CONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE-CONFIG_SYS_MALLOC_LEN should be available.

'examples/hello_world.c' contains a small "Hello World" Demo