NTAG424 - Security & product authentication

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NTAG424 - Security & product authentication

hanif_janmohame
Contributor I
I am a visual designer (not a developer - hopefully, this is the right place to post ;-) 
I am looking for some help with the NFC portion of an IoT project. I will be working on this project with a small group of students from a CompSci technical college here in Vancouver, BC.
The IoT objects have an embedded NFC Tag and connect the holder to an online platform via their smartphone. The smartphone is geo-located and the holder can post media content. The object is then shared with others, allowing them to connect and post content as well. Physical possession of the object is required to access the platform - it should function as a unique key.
I have built a proof of concept using NFCs with NTAG213 (easily spoofed). I am now looking to develop the prototype a step further using NTAG 424 and SUN messaging to authenticate the object, and provide platform access - without the need for a thin app on the phone - conceptually this seems do-able.
However, this is clearly not as simple as encoding a 213 chip with a URL! I have read some of the material here and elsewhere, and while this seems feasible, I'm sure there are many challenges. I am looking for a bit of enlightenment here - and hopefully, some developer support to help put together a functional prototype. 
 I plan to purchase either HID Omnikey 5022cl or uTrust 3700 F and use the TagXplorer application (Mac/Windows) to encode and test sample NTAG424 NFC Tags. Any other suggestions?
Advice, insight, caveats, and suggestions welcome. Thanks in advance!
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

hanif_janmohame
Contributor I

Hi jonathaniglesias,