Where do driver files come from? LPC11EXX migration from LPC1114

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where do driver files come from? LPC11EXX migration from LPC1114

accelmotion
Contributor III

I have some experience with a set of apps for the LPC1114 family under LPCXpresso (currently 8.2.2), but have recently redesigned for a LPC11E67 100pin device to get access to more peripherals.

With the previous versions I was able to move projects from one LPC1114 size to another and the CMSIS peripheral libraries all worked the same way, but when i created a new LPC11E6X project, there were no driver .h and .c files created by the wizard, and the older driver files used a slightly different Type/TypeDef distinction in the libraries, so they didn't work. 

The older files don't work, and the wizard didn't create any new ones for the LPC11E6X. 

What am I missing about how the LPCXpresso wizard and the libraries work? GPIOs are different between the LPC1114 and LPC11E/U units, but there's no new GPIO.H and GPIO.C file to instantiate the locations and references. 

Can anyone point me in the right direction about this?

David

Labels (3)
10 Replies

lpcxpresso_supp
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

The LPC11E6x family are quite different to the earlier LPC11E1x/2x/3x devices. And you need to ensure that you use the LPC11E6x wizards, not the LPC11Exx ones.

But that aside, the older "CMSIS" peripheral libraries were not created for LPC11E6x devices, only LPCOpen libraries. Thus you will generally need to use LPCOpen with these devices.  You should also note that you will need to use the LPC11U6x LPCOpen library as there isn't an LPC11E6x version (LPC11E6x is basically the same as LPC11U6x, but without the USB peripheral system).

Finally, I would recommend the use of MCUXpresso IDE for any new development work, rather than the old LPCXpresso IDE product.

Regards,

MCUXpresso IDE Support

accelmotion
Contributor III