cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC11U68: rapid USB re-enumerations when calling mass storage device bootloader

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by danblumenfeld on Fri Mar 18 07:57:42 MST 2016
Hello, all.

My name is Dan...I'm new to micro development, as well as to LPCWare, so I apologize if I've missed anything obvious.

I'm attempting to put together a proof-of-concept, demonstrating the ability to update the firmware via the USB mass storage emulation for ISP. I started with the application note and sample code found here: https://www.lpcware.com/content/nxpfile/an11305-usb-system-programming-lpc11u3xlpc11u2x.

I'm developing in the LPCXpresso IDE, v8.0.0 [Build 526] [2015-11-23], on a Windows 10 desktop.

When I debug it through the IDE with the USB cable plugged into the link, it appears to function correctly; gets as far as the call to IAP_Entry and executes. Nothing enumerates, though, presumably because I'm connected to link not target.

When I run it with the USB cable plugged into the target, I see flickering in Explorer's notification tray and in Device Manager, and hear repeated USB enumeration notification sounds. Occasionally, a new drive briefly shows in Explorer, but immediately vanishes. Device Manager lists a disconnected disk drive called "NXP LPC1XXX IFLASH USB Device", which I assume is the mass storage ISP device.

My current code, as simplified as possible (based on LPCOpen projects), is as follows:
Includes lpc_board_nxp_lpcxpresso_11u68 library
Includes lpc_chip_11u68 library

Three source files:
sysinit.c:
Copied unchanged from LPCOpen
cr_startup_lpc11u.c:
Copied unchanged from LPCOpen

Main.c:
#include "board.h"

/* This data must be global so it is not read from the stack */
#define IAP_ENTRY_LOCATION        0X1FFF1FF1
typedef void (*IAP_ENTRY_T)(unsigned int[5], unsigned int[4]);

void IAP_Entry(unsigned int cmd_param[5], unsigned int status_result[4])