cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debugging Hard Fault

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by martinmckee on Wed Dec 26 23:35:30 MST 2012
Okay, full disclosure, I'm quite new to 32-bit microcontrollers in general ( used to AVR 8-bit ) and to ARM Cortex-M0 in particular.  One thing that means is that I have not had to deal with exceptions ( or faults ) before.

The issue I'm having is that I have some code that implements a cooperative task handling API.  Everything was going fine until I added another, more complicated, version of a function.  The two earlier versions I implemented worked just fine.  Calling the third seems to trigger a Hard Fault.  But, here's the bit I don't understand.  The Hard Fault is triggered within a function that I am calling that does the bulk of the work.  This function is identical for all three implementations, it simply takes different parameters ( created by the calling functions ).

The struct being operated upon is declared as:

typedef struct COOP_TASK {
//
// Control Members
//
bool enabled;
coop_task_priority_t priority;
uint8_t id;

//
// Event Members
//
coop_event_function_t event;
void * event_data;
coop_size_t event_data_size;

//
// Task Implementation Members
//
coop_task_function_t func;
void * task_data;
coop_size_t task_data_size;

//
// Task List
//
struct COOP_TASK * next_task;
} coop_task_t;

And the code that triggers the Fault looks like this:

task->enabled = true;
task->priority = _priority;
task->id = tasker_system.next_id;
task->event_data = _event_data; // This line triggers it...
task->event = _event;
task->func = _func;
task->task_data = _task_data;
task->next_task = 0;

The task memory is allocated by a pool manager which seems to be working just fine.  When I step through and trap the instruction that actually causes the fault it ends up being:
str r2, [ r3, #8 ]