cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having trouble flashing a blank microcontroller

Bouras
Contributor II
Hi,

I have built my first PCB board and I have little to zero experience in flashing a blank board. The microprocessor that I have used is the MK64FN1M0VLL12 using the LQFP-100 pin package. I am programming it using MCUXpresso from NXP.

The issue that I am currently having is that the micro is constantly resetting approx every second or so. Using an oscilloscope I also cannot see any output clock output from pin 1. This makes me believe that the micro is having trouble powering up. I also have an external clock connected to the micro. Not sure if this impacts the clock on startup.

I also have questions about correctly initialising (enabling/disabling) the signals/clocks/hardware on MCUXpresso for the project. Also when I try to flash and debug the card as I go to step through the code I get a tab pop up saying "No source available for "g_pfnVectors() at 0x0". Is this bootloader related if so how do I add a bootloader? The dev board with this processor was set up as a mass storage device so you could drag and drop the bootloader.

Appreciate all feedback! TIA

Edit: Regarding setting up the bootloader, is this the right approach?  https://mcuoneclipse.com/2014/11/10/recovering-the-frdm-k64f-bootloader-or-cloning-the-program-of-a-...
0 Kudos
1 Reply

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Bouras,

To a new K64 chip which still didn't download the firmware, the constantly resetting in the reset pin is correct, after you download the code, it will be high.

Now, at first, I highly recommend you find a JLINK, and use the JLINK to connect your own designed board, use the JLINK command to check whether you can find the ARM core or not?

An example for you:

kerryzhou_0-1619597752300.png

Please check it at first, if you can't find the ARM core, it means your hardware still have issues.