cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing to flash memory on MCF 5235

sampson711
Contributor I

Hi,

I'm relatively new to coldfire microprocessors and I am attempting to write a single byte of data to the flash memory on the 5235 evaluation board. The flash memory device on my board is the M29W160EB. I have consulted the data sheet for the flash memory and it is possible to write a byte of data by issuing the following sequence of write commands:

Address             Data

555                      AA

2AA                      55

555                      A0

PA                        PD                      where PA is the address to write to and PD is the data to write

I thought this would be straight forward to implement, but I can't seem to get it to work. I am working with the CodeWarrior IDE  which includes a basic hello world application specifically for the 5235evb which I am attempting to modify to accomplish my flash write. The base memory address of the flash is 0xFFE00000. I am running my code from external RAM. Here is the c code that I thought would accomplish the job:

vuint8 *faddr;

int main(void)

{

faddr = (vuint8*)0xFFE00555;

*faddr = 0xAA;

faddr = (vuint8*)0xFFE002AA;

*faddr = 0x55;

faddr = (vuint8*)0xFFE00555;

*faddr = 0xA0;

faddr = (vuint8*)0xFFE00000; /* Write some byte to some address*/

*faddr = 0x11;

}

I've played around with the wait state value in the Chip Select Control Register as I was concerned that it may be a timing issue but I have not had success with that. Also, I would have thought that this would be configured properly by default.

Anyway, if someone can shed some light on what I am doing wrong and steer me in the write direction (haha) I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

stzari
Contributor III

Hi,

a few things to check ...

- can you program your flash using other tools ?