cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BASIC SWITCH USAGE

Jump to solution
sheetanshkaushi
Contributor III

Hi! I am new to microcontroller programming so please be patient. the following will seem like a stupid question.

I am using DEMO9S08AW60E and using Codewarrior(Version: 5.9) with PE.

-------------Code Begins.

PTFDD = 0x00;  // to activate/intialize the port F and D

PTDDD = 0x00;

if ((PTDD_PTDD2 |= 0x02))

{

PTFD_PTFD0 |=0x01;

}

else

{

PTFD_PTFD0 &=0x01;

}

-------------Code Ends.

link for DEMO9S08AW60E: http://cache.freescale.com/files/microcontrollers/hardware_tools/schematics/DEMO9S08AW60_SCH.pdf

According to the schematic of the board, Switch 4 is connected to PortD/Pin2. And the set of LED are connected to the PortF/Pin(0-7). I have used a pull up resistor with the help of PE. The idea is to switch on the Led when the swtich is pressed.  Logically i feel my code is fine but there doesnt seem to be any effect. I would like to know where i am going wrong and hope you will able to help.

And also it will be great if someone could tell me how to add delay in a loop for example when i am using if else loop.

THANKS in advance!

Labels (1)
1 Solution
Lundin
Senior Contributor IV

How to enable pull resistors in HCS08 is pretty much undocumented in the manual. What you have to do is this:

- Write to PTnPS to enable interrupts. Yes, it doesn't make sense. But it will enable the next register, PTnES.

- Write to PTnES to select interrupt edge trigger. Yes, it doesn't make sense. But it will at the same time set the pull resistor polarity: pull-up or pull-down.

- Write to PTnPE to enable the pull resistor.

- Write zero to PTnDD to set the pin as input.

---

That being said, your code has the following problems:

- You aren't using any contact de-bouncing. You need some form of simple contact de-bouncing algorithm, or your program will read random inputs from the switch.