Real time clock on LC60

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Real time clock on LC60

birdbird
Contributor I
Hello i m a total noobie in programming and i need to initialise a real time clock that counts the time and date and display it on the LC60 demo kit. I am told to use the IRQ function in the LC60. Anybody knows how to do that?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies

little_egg_tart
Contributor I

Hello!

I found this thread by chance. I myself have to do the same thing in school as a project. 

I have no clue how to implement it too. Do you know how to do it?

Regards, little.eggtart.

0 Kudos

OmarAI
Contributor I

birdbird, I'm going to be honest with you. The code you showed me don't mean that much to me. The thing is that first of all you have to know C language (there's a lot of information about it on the internet). The next thing to do is read the DS1338C datasheet (http://datasheets.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/DS1338-DS1338Z.pdf). If you start reading from page 8, you will find all the information you need to work with the clock. As for the LCD screen (http://www.softbaugh.com/downloads/SBLCDA2_Specification.pdf) it looks like it has a dedicated pin for each segment, so all you need to do is access the right port (depends on how it is connected to your MCU, something similar to driving 7 segment led dispalys).

I can tell you this :

********* Looks like the code needed to start de RTC*********

void IICRTC_InitWrite (void){ //to initialize RTC sets at 8.40am wed
byte i;

while(IICS_BUSY);       // Wait till bus is free
  IICC_TX = 1;         // Transmit Mode
   IICC_MST = 1;        // Send start bit
   IICD = 0b11010000;   // Transmit slave address
   for (i=0; i<5; i++); // Delay

while(IICS_TCF==0);  // Wait till transfer is complete
   IICD= 0x00;          // Transmit word address

******** look at the comments on the right, they tell you what each line does **********