cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to correctly create SDK that contains FreeRTOS

Jump to solution
edward_c_sewell
Contributor II

I'm a newbie as regards micro-controller programming and what I really want to learn is to use FreeRTOS on a microcontroller.

To begin with I have installed the MCUXpresso IDE (11.1)  and using the MCUXpresso SDK Builder I've created an SDK for the LPCXpresso804(LPC804). I've successfully installed this SDK into the MCUXpresso IDE.

From my reading of the NXP documentation I expected the SDK to contain the required code files to allow me to create a new project using the FreeRtos as the operating system for all Cortex 'M' controllers, in my case the LPC804..

From the 'Operating Systems' tab on the 'Configure the  Project' dialog of the MCUXpresso IDE there is only the option of 'baremetal'.

At this point I'm wondering if I have made an error when creating the SDK as I might have expected a configure project option to allow me to use RTOS as the operating system for the micro-controller.

I'd appreciate if somebody could comment on what I have done so far and in particular how to correctly create a SDK that will allow me to select FreeRTOS as the OS for the micro-controller.

Thanks

Ed

Labels (1)
1 Solution
ErichStyger
Senior Contributor V

Hi Ed,

I described it for my LPC845-BRK (I don't have any LPC804), but I assume it is the same for your LPC804:

Tutorial: Adding FreeRTOS to where there is no FreeRTOS | MCU on Eclipse 

I hope this his helpful,

Erich

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
ErichStyger
Senior Contributor V