Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial Debug link not working

Jump to solution
rstone
Contributor III

MCUXpresso IDE, TWRK81F150M board.

I'm new to this IDE and board, and though I've set it up according to the quick start, the IDE can't connect to it for debug or console access.

When it is initialized, there's a sample demo app that runs, so I know the serial->usb link is working, but I can't seem to get the demo to quit so I can download, run and debug any new code. I've tried resetting the board for a firmware update, ctrl-c and sending breaks. If there's a jumper that needs to be moved, it's not documented (or not apparent) and though I've read all the startup documentation I can find, they just presume the serial debug link works and that the debugger can talk to the board over the serial link, but I show "device not present".

Anyone familiar with board above or its like who can assist me in getting past the demo?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
converse
Senior Contributor V

Ok, it’s the POS board. You need a debug probe as there is no onboard debug. Get LPC-Link2 (OM13054). It costs about $25.

note that there is no such thing as ‘serial debug’ with Cortex-M, it is all SWD based, which means you need a debug probe.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
rstone
Contributor III

Thank you both for replying. The only connection between the host and board is the USB connector - which provides a serial port on both Unix and Windows hosts I've tried. The sample app (a secure pin entry demo) starts when I open the serial port, and I can see its output in putty or minicom, responsive to keypresses on the board's PIN pad..

I've been trying to use what I presume is the JLink connection to the IDE on the host, but it cannot establish a connection when I specify the comm port created by the USB connection. I have tried it both with the putty/minicom instance still running and after shutting down putty/minicom.

Thanks,

Rich

0 Kudos