Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to convert .elf files to .Sxx or .Bin files

Jump to solution
janhoogma
Contributor I

Hello,

I'm new with FreeScale but I managed to setup KDS and rebuild the 'hello_world' application for KL25Z.

Now I want to run it on a board.

But the target I created is in .elf format.

To be able to run it on the KL25Z I must convert it to BS.  (.Sxx or .bin)

According to information I found this can be achieved with the 'elftobs' converter.

But I cannot find this tool on NXP of any other site. I found github where it can be downloaded and build.

Can do that, but I like to use the original application first.

If someone knows where to find elftobs (or  elftobin) I like to hear.

Thanks,

Jan

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
1 Solution
ZhangJennie
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,

elftobs is included in NXP_Kinetis_Bootloader_2_0_0 package.

download link:

Kinetis Bootloader|NXP

folder: ..\Freescale\NXP_Kinetis_Bootloader_2_0_0\bin\Tools\elftosb

this tool is for generating "Secure Binary" file.  the "key file" is needed for using elftobs tool.

if you only need generate a project bin or srec file, KDS itself can do it well. elftobs is not needed. I just made a video of how the KDS generates bin and srec files. Hope this helps!

Have a great day,
Jennie Zhang

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

5 Replies
janhoogma
Contributor I

Thanks, both of you.

The answer of Jennie Zhang best reflected my question and the video was very welcome either.

But from Erich I learned that there are other useful tools to explore.

Now I can make the next step.

Jan

0 Kudos
BlackNight
NXP Employee