cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regarding.....Linker files and Mem files

tkvenki
Contributor III
Hi All,

I'm a newbie for this platform. Please help me out in some concepts.

I have a made a board, based on the MCF5485EVB card.
My new card has an external flash and a external DDRAM.

Now to make the external flash and DDRAM accesible, what do I need to do?

* DO I need to change my .LCF file? ( Add a Flash section in the Memory)
* Do I need to change the .MEM file?(Allocate a section)

If I do not provide a section in the LCF file for the flash/DDRAM, what will happen?
Will I not be able to access them?
is it required to change the .mem file also?

Thanks
Venki

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
2 Replies

SimonMarsden_de
Contributor II
Hello Venki

You need to think about two separate concepts:

(a) You need to write code to initialise the hardware (e.g. the SDRAM controller) so that you can read and write from the memory

(b) You need to tell CodeWarrior what the memory map is, so that it can locate code appropriately - e.g. place code in Flash but place read/write data in RAM.

I'll give you a bit more detail so you can hopefully understand the overall structure....

Initialising the hardware
------------------------------
Imagine that the ColdFire processor is booting up and that no debugging cable is attached.

Initially, the boot program will be located in the Flash (external Flash on the MCF5485EVB). Until it takes steps to initialise them, some other resources like the SDRAM cannot be accessed.

The boot program usually starts off with some code in assembler to initialise a minimal environment - e.g. initialise the on-chip SRAM. It then carries out further initialisation of modules like the PLL and the SDRAM controller, the initialisation code for which can be written in C.

Once the whole processor is set up, control typically transfers to your 'main' procedure.