cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basics of Bus Fault in S32DS Program

abdul_rahman
Contributor II

Hi team,

I was trying to run a simple complementary program on a S32K358 microcontroller using the S32DS IDE. But i'm facing an error called as bus fault in the program. I have attached the highlighted screenshot of the error message below.

abdul_rahman_0-1722441809041.png

I ran the same program in an S32K344 evaluation board and there I didn't face such an error. Please explain me this fault and also the solution to this as I'm new to this IDE's programming. It would be really helpful.

S32DS-S32PLATFORM #S32K358 #BusFault 

0 Kudos
5 Replies

abdul_rahman
Contributor II

Hi @VaneB 

I ran the Emios_PWM_Ip example code, that comes with the SDK, on my custom board with the S32K358 controller. I'm still getting the same HardFault error mentioned before. What could be the problem then?

abdul_rahman_0-1723023668800.png

0 Kudos

VaneB
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @abdul_rahman 

BusFault: detects memory access errors on instruction fetch, data read/write, interrupt vector fetch, and register stacking (save/restore) on interrupt (entry/exit).

HardFault: is the default exception and can be triggered because of an error during exception
processing, or because an exception cannot be managed by any other exception mechanism.

If there is no handler for a specific fault, it is escalated to HardFault.

As the code works with a S32K344, there could be a configuration problem. If it is possible could you share your project or configurations? Also, which RTD version are you using? 

BR, VaneB

abdul_rahman
Contributor II

Hi @VaneB 

I have attached the .zip file of the project that the code is in. I'm using version 4.0.0 of PlatformSDK kit from NXP.