cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PWM dutycycle of 0% using SCTtimers?

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by renskessener on Wed Feb 17 14:14:44 MST 2016
I want to make a PWM signal with a dutycycle from 0 – 100% in 64 steps.
(Actually I need 4 PWM’s but if one works I can make 4 work)
It must be possible to have 0% dutycycle.

I thought SCT timers would be the best choice.

I am new to LPC processors and I don’t understand (yet) all items in the user manual.
I use the LPC11U68 board as a vehicle to figure things out.
I used the example (in LPCopen) “ periph_SCT_PWM” as a guide.

Using STC1:
I set the MATCH0 and MATCHREL0 registers to 63 to represent PWM-cycle length.
I use MATCH1 and MATCHREL1 registers as the dutycycle register.
By changing the MATCHREL1 register to a new desired dutycycle, the MATCH1 register will follow the next cycle as I understand. It varies from 0 to 63.
EVENT[0] is used to signal a match for the PWM-cycle length and sets OUT0 to 1.
EVENT[1] is used to signal a match for the dutycycle and sets OUT0 to 0.
SCT_EVENT_0 and SCT_EVENT_1 bothe enable STATE0.
I think I do not need states.

It works, BUT at a dutycycle of 0, OUT0 still produces a pulse.
Probably because EVENT[0] take precedence or because, if MATCH1 == 0,  EVENT[1]  happens
At the first clockcycle.?????

Do I misunderstand the capabilities of the SCT-timers?
What do I do wrong?
Is there an example out there that makes a PWM that includes 0% dutycycle?

Thanks in advance
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by gstraka on Tue Apr 12 19:32:57 MST 2016

Quote: renskessener
From gstraka:
Edit: Actually with the above solution, it's possible to get a 0% duty cycle but not a 100% duty cycle. It's basically reversing the problem, no?

Yes, I agree. It reverses the problem. It is either 0% but not 100% or 100% and not 0%.