Output an exact number of Pulses on GPIO using Timer control instead of CPU interrupt

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Output an exact number of Pulses on GPIO using Timer control instead of CPU interrupt

JC1985
Contributor I

Hi,

I work as a system engineer and now am architecting one new product. NXP RT500 is a quite interesting candidate, however, by searching the forum it was found that legacy NXP MCU product does not support using Timer and repetition counter to generate a pulse train on GPIO with precise  pulse number control without interferring CPU, which can be supported by STM32 MCU.

How is the status of RT500 product? Is a similar solution supported now? If not, could you please provide any avaialble solution which is not based on CPU interrupt?

Thanks

// JC1985

0 Kudos
9 Replies

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @JC1985 ,

Thank you for your interest in the NXP MIMXRT product, I would like to provide service for you.

I checked the RT500 UM, really didn't find the output defined PWMs without the CPU, normally, we can use the interrupt to know how many PWM generated, then to stop it. This method still need the CPU.

But, I can help you to double check with our internal expert about this function, any updated information, I will let you know.

Wish it helps you!

If you still have question about it, please kindly let me know.

Best Regards,

kerry

0 Kudos

JC1985
Contributor I

Thanks for your quick reply. If the PWM count function can generate an interrupt to CPU, can it also trigger the DMA to write data to PWM register to stop the PWM?

// JC1985

0 Kudos

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @JC1985 ,

To the DMA, normally, we send the counter to the timer register, which is the compare value, to get the different PWM duty, not the stop. Maybe you can try to set the duty to 0 or 100%, I think that also can be seemed as the PWM stop, right?