Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

spi loaded at /dev/spidev32765.0?

Jump to solution
rathben
Contributor III

Hello All -

I am new to device tree and trying to configure an spi port for spidev access in /dev/spidevX.Y. I was somewhat successful with the code shown below... the port works, I can run a loopback test, however it gets mounted as /dev/spidev32765.0 instead of what I was expecting, /dev/spidev1.0.

I am running on an imx6slevk, kernel 3.10.17, with the following additions to imx6sl-evk.dts:

&ecspi2 {

fsl,spi-num-chipselects = <1>;

cs-gpios = <0>;

pinctrl-names = "default";

pinctrl-0 = <&pinctrl_ecspi2_1>;

status = "okay";

spidev@0x00 {

compatible = "spidev";

spi-max-frequency = <20000000>;

reg = <0>;

};

};

&iomuxc {

ecspi2 {

pinctrl_ecspi2_1: ecspi2grp-1 {

fsl,pins = <

MX6SL_PAD_LCD_DAT10__ECSPI2_MISO 0x100b1

MX6SL_PAD_LCD_DAT9__ECSPI2_MOSI 0x100b1

MX6SL_PAD_LCD_DAT8__ECSPI2_SCLK 0x100b1

MX6SL_PAD_ECSPI2_SS0__ECSPI2_SS0 0x100b1

>;

};

};

Any ideas? Thanks -Ben

Labels (1)
1 Solution
fabio_estevam
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Ben,

This is the expected behavior in 3.10. Please see this thread and the reply from Grant Likely (dt maintainer):

https://www.mail-archive.com/spi-devel-general@lists.sourceforge.net/msg08231.html

Just tested on my mx6qsabresd:

- On 3.10 I get:

m25p80 spi32766.0: m25p32 (4096 Kbytes)

spi nodes look better on more recent kernels though:

- On 3.14-rc2 I get:

m25p80 spi0.0: m25p32 (4096 Kbytes)

Regards,

Fabio Estevam

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
qinghuazhu
Contributor III

I'd like to share my rebuild method here

#!/bin/sh

rm tmp/stamps/imx6sxsabresd-poky-linux-gnueabi/linux-imx/3.14.28-r0.do_compile.*

bitbake linux-imx -c compile

if [ $? -ne 0 ];then

exit

fi

rm sstate-cache/ab/sstate:linux-imx:imx6sxsabresd-poky-linux-gnueabi:3.14.28:r0:imx6sxsabresd:3:abcaddfad744af88c57ba3e6769b28dc_deploy.tgz