cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Device Tree dts ... multiple copies?

jayhunt1
Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm building Linux 5.4 for an i.mx6ul-evk, I'm new to yocto and am somewhat confused by the file structure.  I succeeded in building a core-image-base, but now I want to modify the device tree and I don't know which .dts file to modify.  Here are all of the imx6ul-14x14.dts files that I have, which appear to be duplicates:

/opt/yocto/imx-yocto-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa7t2hf-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/linux-libc-headers/5.4-r0/linux-5.4/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-14x14-evk.dts

/opt/yocto/imx-yocto-bsp/build/tmp/work/x86_64-linux/qemu-native/4.1.0-r0/qemu-4.1.0/roms/u-boot/arch/arm/dts/imx6ul-14x14-evk.dts

/opt/yocto/imx-yocto-bsp/build/tmp/work/x86_64-linux/u-boot-tools-native/1_2019.07-r0/git/arch/arm/dts/imx6ul-14x14-evk.dts

/opt/yocto/imx-yocto-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa7t2hf-neon-mx6ul-poky-linux-gnueabi/linux-imx-headers/5.4-r0/git/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-14x14-evk.dts

/opt/yocto/imx-yocto-bsp/build/tmp/work/imx6ulevk-poky-linux-gnueabi/u-boot-imx/1_2019.04-r0/git/arch/arm/dts/imx6ul-14x14-evk.dts

/opt/yocto/imx-yocto-bsp/build/tmp/work-shared/imx6ulevk/kernel-source/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-14x14-evk.dts

Which of these should I modify to change the device tree?

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

jayhunt1
Contributor II

Thanks, that's very helpful. 

I am using the imx-yocto-bsp.

In the NXP documentation when it refers to a folder without a full path such as " ... device trees are for now located in arch/arm/boot/dts", how would I know which parent folder they are referring to?

0 Kudos

gusarambula
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Jay Hunt,

The documentation does not explain where on the Yocto BSP would these files be stored as Yocto is not meant for development but rather distribution of customized Linux Distributions.