Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Performance comparison between S32K and 57xx

Jump to solution
ricardofranca
Contributor III

Hello,

I have had some experience with 55xx, 56xx and 57xx MCUs and I am now contemplating a future migration to S32. As performance is a potential issue, I would like to know how a S32K (e.g. S32K348) with a 240MHz Cortex-M7 would perform when compared to a 264MHz MPC5674F or a 300MHz MPC5777C.

Per the EEMBC website, the Coremark score of a MPC5674F (@264MHz) is 516 and the datasheet of the S32Kxx family provides a Coremark score of 1269 to the S32K348, which should mean a huge gain in performance (halving the execution time of an application?) in spite of a slighly lower core frequency... However, I once tried some Arm-based device that ran at 400MHz and, for my application (a dummy control system with no long loops, comprising mostly Boolean and floating-point logic) it barely outperformed the MPC5777C, which ran at 264MHz.

Do you have any performance comparison (other than Coremark scores) between 56xx/57xx and S32K3xx? Is a S32K348 expected to outperform a MPC5777C as suggested by their Coremark scores?

Thanks!

Best regards,

Ricardo

0 Kudos
1 Solution
davidtosenovjan
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

FlexIO is universal timing module providing capabilities as UART, SPI, I2C, I2S, LIN, PWM, but there I don't think EBI could be emulated with this peripheral. At least I am not aware of any existing solution.

QuadSPI module is considered to be a replacement of external bus. It allows user to connect external memory device over QuadSPI, OctalSPI or Hyperbus communication protocol and have memory mapped access.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
ricardofranca
Contributor III