Problem with S32G2 QSPI serial NOR micron flash sector erase command: SR.BUSY flag stuck

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with S32G2 QSPI serial NOR micron flash sector erase command: SR.BUSY flag stuck

SSyb
Contributor III

ear all,

I am having headache with controlling a Micron MT35XU512ABA QSPI seial NOR flash from an S32G274A.
The board is a custom board (not one of the NXP RDB2 or EVP).
I run a classic AUTOSAR stack with the NXP Realtime-Driver Package SW32G_RTD_4.4_3.0.2_HF01 (but the differences to later versions are not so big), configured with the Tresos tool.

for the Fls driver configuzration, I started with the RDB2 example configuration provided by NXP in the "Integration_Reference_Examples_S32G2_2022_06" bundle and fom there
modified it to make it fit for the Micron MT35XU512ABA.
- otcal DDR mode
- register read, data read and page program/write work sucessfully

Problem: sector erase does not work

I am a newbie to QSPI flash, jumping from example to example. I still have not understood whether to send 1 or 2 CMD bytes for the erase LUT sequence:
- the Micron datasheet suggests there is noe CD byte, and 4 address bytes, and that's it.
- I have seen in other documents (e.g. the S32G_QSPINOR_定制_20211125_V3.pdf from the NXP website) that people use 2 CMD bytes in octal DDR mode, where one is the usual CMD code from the spec,  and the 2nd byte is a copy of the first one, or the the bit-inverted value. I have not read in any specification what is the background though.

What effects do I see:

(1) when I supply 1 cmd code plus address

8-8-0
instruction = CMD_DDR, opcode = 0xdc (erase 128 kB sector)
instruction = ADDRESS_DDR , opcode = 0x20 (4 bytes)

Result: Neither the QSPI IP SR.BUSY flag , nor the flash-internal status busy-flag are blocked for a noticeable duration, no errors returned from any involved RealtimeDriver API, but sector is not erased.