Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to hit breakpoints on LPC4357 M0 core running FreeRTOS

Jump to solution
nos1989
Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I am new to multicore devlopment, FreeRTOS and ARM in general.  I am using the MCB4300 demo board with the Keil uVision development tools to run the LAN Radio Demo (Keil MCB4357 Evaluation Board and Internet Radio Solution|NXP ).

I am able to build it and run it just fine.  I can step through the code on the M4 core (running baremetal code) and set breakpoints, however when I try setting breakpoints on the M0 core (running FreeRTOS) the core never stops even though I know that condition has been reached as I am writing debug statements to a terminal window.  Are there any special settings that need to be set when multicore debugging or when using an RTOS?

Thanks!

Labels (2)
1 Solution
bernhardfink
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

In the CM0 project there was no INI file provided for the debugger start. This means that the debug information from the axf file was not loaded into the debugger, therefore the relation between the source code and the binary code was missing. Anyway, it is indeed possible to set breakpoints, but just in the assembler code window.

Take the attached complete setup or do it simply by yourself, just provide the same ini file for both debug setups:

Picture1.png

Regards,

Bernhard.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi nos1989,

Debug breakpoint is no relationship with freertos.

The ARM Cortex-M0 in LPC4357 can support 2 instruction breakpoints, but you need to use JTAG debug mode.

You can find this information in the LPC4357 user manual:

pastedImage_1.png

Please check your debug interface, and try again.

If you still have question, please tell me the detail step how reflect your problem, I will test it on my side.

Have a great day,
Kerry