cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADR assembler syntax

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by acelink1 on Thu Mar 06 02:03:51 MST 2014
Hi Guys, I have ran into a serious problem with ADR in assembler.

I've stored a few pictures in my LPC4357's flash bank A. I'm using the Cortex M4 CPU.
using .thumb mode too.

I have 10 pictures in flash mem all about 20k in size. In my assembler code I need to read picture 8's data so
I use this code:

ADR.W R3, PICTURE8 // This should store the address of picture8 in R3 is that correct?

When I build my code the assembler tells me that it the wrong consonant. What does that mean? Syntax?

Can some one please show me how to read ANY address in flash memory with the ADR command or is their another
assembler command that I don't know of?

I even tried MOV.W R3, PICTURE8 thinking it would store the 32bit address in R3 and that didn't work either.

I have many years experience in Assembler 6502, 68000, ATMEL 8 & 32bit  MPU's but very little in ARM assembler.
and no C or C++.

So please  I really need a little help on thins one. All the rest of my code is working fine except the one I need most. ADR.

Thanks guys :)
Pete
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
14 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by TheFallGuy on Sun Mar 16 11:59:16 MST 2014
Can you show us some examples of your code? I think you are probably rather naive in your use of thumb assembler. It is very powerful with some great optimisation opportunities. I bet the experts on this forum can help you learn how to make best use of the assembler. For example, did you look at my suggestion of caching the address in an otherwise unused register? Load one, and then use forever...

Going to cortex-a will bring a whole new set of challenges...
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by starblue on Sun Mar 16 09:25:10 MST 2014