cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interesting reset activity on RESET_b for KL26

Jump to solution
kevincuzner
Contributor II

I just assembled a board that I have created that basically acts as a breakout board for a MKL26Z32VFM4. Today, I am trying to get it to communicate over SWD so I can program the initial bootloader. I've never done anything like this before and this is basically an experiment for myself to see what it takes to go from datasheet to working device with one of these microcontrollers.

I have another microcontroller emulating the SWD interface and it might not be emulating it properly (I haven't yet actually counted the pulses to make sure it is using 50 pulses to initialize). In any case, the KL26 failed to respond when I held RESET_b low.

I decided to see if the processor was even starting, so I put the oscilloscope on the RESET_b pin when it was left floating to see what would happen. According to the datasheet, it is pulled up internally and during the boot sequence it is driven low until the processor reaches a certain state. It then releases the pin and sees if it is rising fast enough (KL26 family reference, 6.3.3). If it isn't it keeps the processor in reset mode.

I see the following waveform on the RESET_b pin (pin PTA20):

scope_0.png

This doesn't look right at all. I should see it just simply high, not making a nice RC curve between 0 and 3V at approximately 30kHz (it's really wiggly as can be seen).

My theory: It is somehow stuck in a boot loop since it is driven low quite rapidly.

I could put a resistor on the reset to raise it to 3.3V, but I'm curious as to why this is happening. There are possibly a few mitigating factors: